School briefs


Erica Dietzel Erica Dietzel

BUCYRUS NAMES NEW ELEMENTARY PRINCIPAL – The Bucyrus City School District Board of Education approved Erica Dietzel as the new Elementary School Principal during their regular meeting June 25.

Dietzel returns to Ohio after serving 12 years in the 10th largest school district in the country, Orange County Public Schools in Florida, as a teacher and building administrator.

“I love curriculum and working with all staff and students to promote student success,” Dietzel said. “I believe that to have a successful building, everyone must have a centralized vision and mission to follow.”

Dietzel received her Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education from Heidelberg College in 2003. She earned a Master of Science in Educational Leadership from Nova Southeastern University in 2009.

“For the past 3 years, I had the privilege of being a building site administrator for a new campus in the Orange County Public Schools,” Dietzel said. “The unique part about this particular campus was that it served as a pilot for two new curriculum programs, as well as a digital pilot for the state of Florida.”

GALION NATIVE HONORED – Shane Gorbett of Galion has been named to the 2015 spring semester Dean’s List at Ohio Wesleyan University.

To qualify for Dean’s List recognition, Ohio Wesleyan students must achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale in all applicable classes.

3 AREA STUDENTS GRADUATE FROM YSU – Youngstown State University celebrated the culmination of the academic careers of hundreds of students during Spring Commencement in Beeghly Center in May. The following local students earned degrees:

* Christopher Bowin of Galion received a Bachelor of Engineering degree in Mechanical Engineering.

* Corey Dunbar of North Bloomfield received a Bachelor of Engineering degree in Electrical Engineering.

* Jennifer Sprague of North Bloomfield received a Bach of Science in Business Ad degree in Business Administration.

STUDENTS EARN DEAN’S LIST HONORS – The following area residents earned Walsh University Dean’s List honors for the Spring 2015 semester.

* Samantha Sturtz of Bucyrus

* Nichole Sturtz of Bucyrus

No posts to display