Galion National Honor Society induction ceremony is Nov. 8

Staff Report - [email protected]

GALION — Galion High School will host its 2021 National Honor Society (NHS) induction ceremony on Monday, Nov. 8 in the high school cafetorium. Twelve new members will be inducted into the Galion High School National Honor Society during the ceremony, which begins at 7:00 p.m.

According to its website, the National Honor Society was established in 1921 by members of the National Association of Secondary School Principals. “Under the leadership of Dr. Edward Rynearson, principal of the Fifth Avenue High School in Pittsburgh, the organization grew from the original Alpha Chapter at the Fifth Avenue School to more than 1,000 chapters by 1930,” the history section of the national website states.

“National Honor Society members are some of our best and brightest students,” National Honor Society Advisor Nicci Lambright said. “Membership in this group represents a student’s well-rounded commitment to academics, service, leadership and character.”

This year’s inductees include: Sommar Sheriff, Hayden Kaple, Kaya Capretta, Emma VonDerHofen, Hayli Marcum, Jaxon Oehler, Amanda Harvey, Ava Niedermier, Lydia McCabe, Emma Maguire, Gavin Crim, and Julia Conner. They will join current members Kalyn Carroll, Tyler Fraizer, Walker Frankhouse, Matthew Gimbel, Brooke Kelly (President), Kellen Kiser, Regin Kuehlman, Carlie Myers, Ashlee Oris (Vice President), Natalee Perkins, Grayden Pierce, Ava Smith (Treasurer), Zaynah Tate, and Mel Wheeler (Secretary).

“While academics are certainly an important component of membership, community service, leadership and strong character set these students apart,” High School Principal Tasha Stanton said. “Being inducted into National Honor Society is their reward for all of their efforts throughout high school. It is a great honor.”

Please contact Nicci Lambright at [email protected] for more information about the Galion High School National Honor Society.

For information about Galion City Schools, go to the district’s website

Staff Report

[email protected]