Bucyrus inducting inaugural Hall of Fame Class Feb. 19


The Bucyrus City School District will induct the inaugural class into the Bucyrus Hall of Fame during special ceremonies Feb. 19. The class will include six individuals and one team.

The festivities will begin with a reception in the Bucyrus Secondary School Little Theatre prior to the start of the home varsity boys basketball game against Wynford Feb. 19. During the reception, the inductees will be introduced and receive a commemorative plaque. Following the reception, the inductees will be introduced between the junior varsity and varsity basketball games.

“We have an incredible inaugural class for our Hall of Fame,” Hall of Fame committee chairperson Jay Dennison said. “The committee did a tremendous job of selecting a diverse group of individuals that represent some of the best and brightest Bucyrus alumni.”

The inaugural class of the Bucyrus Hall of Fame includes: Tom Holtshouse, Bob Monnett, Sam Sabback, Cecil “Cy” Souders, Chuck Stone, Natalie Winkelfoos and the 1970 football team.

“These individuals have made countless contributions to our district, and our community, that can never be repaid,” Superintendent Kevin Kimmel said. “This is going to be a great night, and I want to personally thank and congratulate each of these individuals for their contributions to the Bucyrus City School District.”

The Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who were outstanding high school athletes, former coaches, school officials, or community members that have distinguished themselves and made positive contributions to the Bucyrus City School District.

Call 419-562-0003 for ticket information for the induction ceremony.

Staff report

No posts to display