Local football talent headed to all-star games Saturday


A whole host of former prep football players will suit up this weekend for all-star games.

For many, it will mark their final chance to put on the pads and lay the lumber, while others will move on to compete at the collegiate level.

Galion’s Cario Davison is headed to Detroit on Saturday to participate in the Ohio-Michigan Border Classic at Wayne State University. A two-way player for the Tigers during his prep career, Davison will continue his playing career at Western Michigan in the Mid-American Conference next season.

Tigers teammates Arby Thompson and Jermaine Burket will suit up for the South team in the annual North Central Ohio Football Coaches Association All-Star Classic. That contest is set for a 7 p.m. kickoff on Saturday at Lexington High School’s Minutemen Field.

Also on the South roster are Northmor’s Lane Foster, Lucas Earhart and Austin Yeater; Colonel Crawford’s Dylan Gulley, Skylar Rose and Tyler Picou; Mount Gilead’s Joseph Elson; and Highland’s Dustin Baker and Jacob Brown.

Joining the players from Galion, Northmor, Mount Gilead and Highland to add even more Mid Ohio Athletic Conference flair to the South side are Ryan Maniaci and Cade Lawrence from Marion Pleasant; Jonathan Brazell of Marion Harding; Fredericktown’s Colton Lybarger, Matthew Giffin and Caleb Snyder; as well as Justin Jacobs, Matthew McDaniel and Kalen Knight from East Knox.

Scott Spitler of Loudonville is the head coach for the South.

The North roster is loaded up with Northern 10 Athletic Conference talent, including Nate Coffman of Crestline. Six Bucyrus Redmen will suit up for the North: Cole Murtiff, Austin Williams, Cole Hollis, Justin Campbell, D.J. Dagher and Levi Spence. Wynford is represented by Cyle Skidmore, Keaton Teynor, Austin Shutler, Kaleb Alspach and Zach Henderson. Buckeye Central’s Jordan Herrnstein and Ross Martin will represent the Bucks.

Plymouth’s Mark Genders is the North coach.

At halftime of the North Central Ohio Football Coaches Association All-Star Classic, 15 $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to 15 players.

No posts to display