Voters say no to sales tax to support Crawford County Justice Center

BUCYRUS — Decisions may have to be made soon about possible changes at the Crawford County Justice Center, operated by the Crawford County Sheriff’s office. A sales tax put before voters Tuesday failed by a large margin. With all precincts reporting, almost 62 percent of voters in Crawford County did not support the tax that would help pay administrative and maintenance costs to support the 20-year-old jail. The tally was 8,781-5,413.

Crawford County Sheriff Kent said there is no choice but to put another issue before voters in May, 2019.

The levy before voters Tuesday was meant to replace a 20-year issued that helped finance the jail’s construction and operation. The jail opened in 1998.

But while Crawford County voters turned down the local jail levy, they said no to State Issue 1 by an overwhelming margin, 11,660-2,610. If that statewide levy had passed, it would have lessened the sentences of some non-violent drug offenders, getting them out of jails all over the state. Supporters said the state would be further ahead to instead spend money on treatment and preventive measures for non-violent offenders. Throughout Ohio — including in Crawford County — law enforcement officials and public office holders campaigned against Issue 1’s passage.

There were no contested races for office in Crawford County. Republican Tim Ley of Bucyrus was the only candidate on the ballot for the Crawford County Board of Commissioners. And Republican Joan Wolfe, of Bucyrus retained her seat as the Crawford County Auditor.

A New Washington tax renewal passed 252-67 and New Washington’s additional levy also passed, 196-120; A Bucyrus Township renewal passed 277-130 and in Chatfield Township, a replacement levy was approved by voters 190-77

Also, in Cranberry Township, the fire protection levy passed 449-128. Cranberry Township’s ambulance and EMS levy passed 474-105; A Lykens Township renewal passed 200-7; Whetstone Township’s fire protection levy passed 270-70; Whetstone Township’s fire equipment passed 611-261.

Crawford County’s conservative views came through loud and clear in Tuesday’s statewide or congressional races.

In the governor’s race, the vote among registered voters in Crawford County favored Republicans Mike DeWine and Jon Husted 9,594-4,128; Republican Dave Yost was Crawford County’s pick to be attorney general 9,714-4,105; Republican Keith Faber was the Crawford County choice for Auditor of State, 9,448-4,075; Republican Frank LaRose was the choice by Crawford County voters in the race for secretary of state 9,632-4,090; in the Treasurer of State race, Republican Robert Sprague won 9,925-4.083. All of these candidates are the unofficial state-wide winners, too.

In the race for the U.S. House of Representative, Crawford County voters overwhelmingly favored Jim Renacci over Sherrod Brown 8959-5240. However, in this case, it wasn’t enough to carry Renacci to victory. Statew0de, Brown picked up more than 54 percent of voters to retain his seat. He will begin his third term representing Ohio in January. Also, U.S., Republican Jim Jordan easily defeated Janet Garrett 10,103-3,988 and went to win another term to represent Ohio’s 4th Congressional District, which includes Crawford County.

And finally, in Riordan McClain received more than 71 percent of the vote in Crawford County and will retain is seat in the 87th district in the Ohio House of Representatives.


Voters say no to sales tax support Crawford County Justice Center