HOJGA offers new 2022 scholarships

Submitted story

Heart of Ohio Junior Golf Association Scholarship program will offer junior golfers within Crawford, Delaware, Hardin, Marion, Morrow, Union, and Wyandot Counties age 13-15 and 16-18, scholarships through points earned and for attributes achieved throughout the 7-tournament season’s events. In all tournament eligibility, juniors must have finished participation in five of seven tournaments. The Junior golfer receiving Player of the Year, as well as runners-up to that accomplishment will qualify for first level consideration to receive a scholarship award.

New to HOJGA’S slate of awards will be the Steve Mills Memorial 13-15 Player of the Year $1000 Scholarship, sponsored by family, Chris and Kelly Mills to honor their father, and a junior boy who obtains most overall points in his division.. HOJGA will sponsor 13-15 Player of Year 1st Runner-up $750 scholarship award.

In 2021, HOJGA opened a Girl’s division, combining ages 13-15 and 16-18. Amy Wensinger Roberts Girl $1000 Annual Scholarship was begun. HOJGA will sponsor the Girl Player of the Year 1st Runner-up $750 award.

A new challenge, the Dr. Jerry Wensinger Double Under Par Incentive $500 Scholarship award is offered to a junior in 16-18 division who achieves double under par (-2) score in two tournaments within the season.

Other 16-18 Scholarships offered for most points earned are the David J. Wensinger Player of the Year $2000 award sponsored by Wensinger Family; the Ross Carley Memorial Player of the Year 1st Runnerup $1700 by Jean Carley Family and Dennis Jesse; the Wensinger Family Player of the Year 2nd Runnerup $500 and H0JGA Player of the Year 3rd Runner-up $500 awards.

The HOJGA 3-Year Accumulative Point $750 Scholarship honors the junior who obtains most points over 3 consecutive years. (Excludes Players of Year and other affiliated scholarship winners). Must have played in five tournaments in 2020, ‘21. ‘22

to be eligible.

The NUCOR Steel Marion “Most Improved” $500 Scholarship is awarded to the junior golfer who obtains the most improved overall scoring average within the current year. Qualifying juniors’ previous year’s average will be compared to present year’s average to find most improved winner.

The K of C (Knights of Columbus) Sportsmanship $500 Scholarship recipient is chosen by juniors within the 16-18 division, whom is believed to present true sportsman-

like conduct within the current year.

The Marion County Youth Foundation M.E.R.I.T. $1000 Scholarship honoree is chosen by tournament officials, a junior who best represents qualities of good manners, etiquette, respect, integrity, and trust.

The Charles W. Emans Memorial Patriot $500 award is sponsored by Danielle Emans.

Tournament officials will select a junior who represents altruism, good attitude, public spirited and integrity, all attributes given by past HOJGA Patriot Emans.

Scholarships will be presented at the HOJGA Year-End Appreciation Banquet on

July 28 at Kings Mill, which will complete the 2022 season.

For further information regarding scholarship criteria or event entries, check website www.hojga.org or call 740-389-6207.


Submitted story