Galion Youth Baseball players ready for All-Star action

As the regular season winds down, Little League baseball players across Ohio are gearing up for postseason action with dreams of reaching the Little League World Series.

The story is no different in Galion where this week Galion Youth Baseball (GYB) released the rosters for its 10U, 11U and 12U all-star teams that will begin District 7 play in July.

The 10U GYB All-Stars will play their district tournament games at Shelby beginning July 13. Matt Tyrell is the head coach and Justin McMullen is the assistant coach.

The roster for the 10U GYB All-Stars features Nicholas McMullen, Carson Frankhouse, Linkon Tyrell, Gage Weaver, Drew Yetter, Logan Keller, Holden Hunter, Derek Prosser, Trevor Shade, Braylon Hart, Trevor Vogt and Bryce Kimberlin.

GYB’s 11U All-Star team will play its district tournament games at Bellevue. The dates have not been determined yet.

Joe Payne is the 11U head coach. Brad McKibben is the assistant coach.

The GYB 11U roster features Hudson Miller, Rece Payne, Jackson Staton, Hanif Donaldson, Carson McCleese, Alijah Evans, Jaxon Oswald, Sam Albert, Lance Gregory, Jason Potter and Nolan McKibben.

The 12U All-Star squad will play its tournament games at Heise Park beginning July 8. Jason McMullen is the head coach. His assistant coaches are Matt Valentine and Gary Frankhouse.

The GYB 12U All-Star roster features Owen Mullins, Matthew McMullen, Wilson Frankhouse, Spencer Keller, Troy Manring, Caden Armstrong, Seth Shumate, Mason McKibben, Owen Hatfield, Carter Keinath, Brody Symsick and Carter Valentine.

GYB president Justin McMullen said the 8U All-Star team will be selected and announced after try-outs are held on Wednesday, June 17. The 8U tournament will be held in Galion with dates to be determined.

Ohio District 7 Little League serves Crawford, Richland, Ashland, Wyandot, Seneca, Huron, Ottawa, and Erie counties. Local Little League organizations in the district include Galion Youth Baseball, Bucyrus Little League, Bellevue Little League, Clyde Little League, Shelby Little League, Willard Little League, Mansfield Little League and New London Little League.