N-10 names girls, boys hoops teams

By Chad Clinger - cclinger@aimmediamidwest.com

GALION — The winter basketball season has officially ended for the Northern-10 Athletic Conference. Postseason play continued thanks to deep runs by the Buckeye Central Buckettes, the Carey Blue Devils and the Mohawk Warriors in their respective tournaments. Buckeye Central advanced to the Division IV state semifinals before being ousted by Ottoville. Carey lost in their Division III regional semis to Columbus Africentric and Mohawk was defeated by Pandora-Gilboa in their DIV regional semi matchup.

With the conclusion of the season comes the announcement of the all-conference honors for both the boys and girls. The squads from Colonel Crawford were well represented with five total student-athletes earning honors.

For the boys, senior Harley Shaum and sophomore Cameron McCreary would be named to the First Team N-10 squad while senior Brody Martin took Second Team honors. Sophomore Jordan Fenner would be named to the Honorable Mention squad for the 2017-2018 campaign.

As for the Lady Eagles, junior Danielle Horsley netted an Honorable Mention nod.

Other boys First Team members were:Max Loy, Buckeye Central; Jevon Dible and Mason Vent, Upper Sandusky; Zach Hayman, Mohawk and Josh Crall, Wynford

Second Team members were: Dalton Sheaffer, Buckeye Central; Cody Luzader, Trey Bame and Hayden Stone, Carey; Alex Forehand, Seneca East and Evan Young, Upper Sandusky

Rounding out the Honorable Mention nods were: Darren Wurm, Buckeye Central; Ryan Evans, Bucyrus; Griffin Summit, Carey; Chris Klopp, Mohawk; Austin Price, Ridgedale; Tyler Turek, Seneca East; Andrew Kurtz, Upper Sandusky and Caleb Rausch, Wynford

Player of the Year was Dible and Coach of the Year award went to Paul Dunn of Mohawk

Over on the girls side, First Team members were: Jenna Karl and Courtney Pifher, Buckeye Central; Sydney Kin, Carey; Abigail Fogle and Megan Hensel, Upper Sandusky; Shaina Orewiler, Bucyrus and Marina Adachi, Seneca East

Second Team members included: Destiny DeFeo and Sydney Ferguson, Carey; Bonnie Bivens and Jessica Bowerman, Seneca East; Olivia Grove, Wynford; Lexi Evak, Buckeye Central and Ally Johnson, Ridgedale

Others receiving Honorable Mention honors were: Taylor Ratliff, Buckeye Central; Isidora Burling, Bucyrus; Bry Curlis, Carey; Aubrey Margraf, Mohawk; Madison Staton, Ridgedale; Aubrey Saylors, Seneca East; Alexis Fogle, Upper Sandusky and Rylee Alspach, Wynford

Player of the Year was Karl and her coach, Greg Moore was named Coach of the Year


By Chad Clinger


Follow Chad on Twitter @GalionSportsGuy

Reach Chad at 419-468-1117 x2048

Follow Chad on Twitter @GalionSportsGuy

Reach Chad at 419-468-1117 x2048