Galion’s Jack McElligott earns scholarships at HOJGA banquet

Steve Grimes also honored season-ending awards banquet

WALDO — The Heart of Ohio Junior Golf Association honored guest speaker Steve Grimes at it’s year-ending awards banquet at Kingsmill Golf Club.

Grimes is well known in the area, including in Galion as a teaching professional. He was recognized for his 24 years as director and instructor of the HOJGA golf clinics. Extensively studying the the golf swing, Grimes has placed a particular emphasis on learning and teaching the mental game. His passion of teaching has led him to teach hundreds of young golfers at Green Acres and other courses around the area.

Also on Thursday, junior members and volunteers of the HOJGA were honored.

Kameron Hall, of Marion Harding, was presented the David J. Wensinger Player of the Year $2,000 scholarship award and rotating trophy. He scored 105 points to top the 16-18 division, and his low-scoring average of 78.6 entitled him to the low-scoring rotating trophy.

Fairbank’s Justin Brackenridge was runnerup to Hall with 97 points and received the Ross Carley Memorial Player of the Year First Runnerup $1,500 scholarship.

Jack McElligott of Galion, with 81 points, received the Wensinger Family Player of the Year Second Runnerup $500 scholarship.

McElligott also earned the NUCOR Steel Marion “Most Improved” $500 scholarship award. HE improved 6.4 strokes from 2016-2017.

Nathan Malone of Pleasant was voted his division’s “Sportsman of the Year” and was presented the Knights of Columbus $500 Sportsmanship scholarship. Todd Crowe II of Fairbanks won the HOJGA Three-Year Accumulative Point $500 scholarship, and was also presented the Marion County Youth Foundation MERIT $,1000 scholarship.

McElligott was second in the 16-18 low-scoring average with 80.6, Brackenridge was third at 81.0. Crowe followed at 83.2 and Pleasant’s Jed Charpie at 84.8.

Mallory Graham of Mount Gilead was winner, with 125 points, of 13-15 group and received the HOJGA Player of the Year $500 scholarship award. Nathan Stewart of Delaware Christian won low-scoring average of 82.2 to receive the rotating trophies.

Pleasant’s Minoy Shah was second in points with 111, and Stewart was third with 92. Wynford’s Jacob Beaschler took fourth with 61 points, and Owen Knapp of Upper Sandusky at 52 to round off the top five pointers.

Graham was second in low-scoring average at 82.6, followed by Shah at 85.2; Beaschler at 94.6 and Knapp at 95.0.

Other division sportsmanship winners were: Spencer Keller of Galion in 13-15 and Rayma Smith of Harding, who received the 12 and younger honor. All honorees received plaques.

Plaques were also presented for most birdies of the season in 16-18 division to Hall, who collected 15, Graham in 13-15 with 5, and Dina Shah with most pars (17) in the 12 and younger class, also had four birdies.

Logan Doubikin of Cardington was the top seller in raffle ticket sales. The winner of the raffle prize, a complete set of Callaway X N415 Irons (4-9, A, PW) was Larry Laird of Marion.

Staff report

The Heart of Ohio Junior Golf Association serves youth ages 9-18 in seven central Ohio Counties: Crawford, Delaware, Hardin, Marion, Morrow, Union and Wyandot.