Cleveland Indians: 2016 American League Champions

By Chad Clinger - [email protected]

It has been quite a calender year for sports teams from Cleveland.

Sure, the Browns are, well, doing Browns’ things. But I am not here to discuss the negative.

The Cleveland Cavaliers won the National Basketball Association world championship earlier this year, the first in franchise history. One championship in 46 years, a championship that will be celebrated Tuesday, Oct.25, when the Cavs open the 2016-‘17 season at home against the rebuilt New York Knicks.

But, while LeBron James and company are busy raising their championship banner and receiving their rings, another kind of magic will be going on right next door at Progressive Field.

The Cleveland Indians are the 2016 American League Champions.

What a year it was for ‘The Tribe’.

Cleveland finished the season as American League Central champs with a record of 94-67. This record was good enough to earn them the No. 2 seed behind the Texas Rangers. While the Rangers were paired up against the Wild Card champion Toronto Blue Jays, the Indians drew the AL East champion Boston.

The Blue Jays provided the Rangers with a quick exit from the playoffs. The Red Sox couldn’t get things going and were swept by the Indians.

How do you like the Indians now Jonathan Lucroy?

The ALCS was set, Toronto against Cleveland, just like it was in the NBA east championship earlier in the year.

Cavs won, Indians won.

The Cavs went on to overcome a 3-1 deficit against the Golden State Warriors to bring a championship to Cleveland, finally.

What is next for the Indians? The NLCS between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Chicago Cubs is shaping up to be a long, epic series. Will the rest help or hinder the Tribe’s championship drive?

This is going to be the Indians’ first World Series appearance since 1997. The Florida Marlins were the NL champs and were on the ropes in game seven. Cleveland took a 2-1 lead into the ninth inning, only for Jose Mesa to blowthat lead and see Edgar Renteria finish off the game in the 11th inning.

The curse stayed alive as the Indians have not won a title since 1948, the second in their history. The first was 1920.

In 1954, the Indians lost in four straight games to the New York Giants.

In 1995, Cleveland put up more of a fight, but fell to the Atlanta Braves, 4-2.

Then there was … the Marlins.

The ‘Windians’ are 7-1 this postseason and await the Dodgers or the Cubs…will this be the year?

Cleveland’s year?

Sorry Browns fans …

By Chad Clinger

[email protected]

Find Chad on Twitter @GalionSportsGuy

Reach Chad at 419-468-1117 x2048

Find Chad on Twitter @GalionSportsGuy

Reach Chad at 419-468-1117 x2048