Students and staff recognized at Bucyrus Schools board meeting

BUCYRUS — Recognizing positive student achievements has become a staple for the Bucyrus City School District. This month, more than thirty Bucyrus Elementary School students received commendations recognizing their involvement in different organizations and activities in the Bucyrus community during the regular meeting of the Bucyrus City School District Board of Education Sept. 29.

The students recognized were involved in different activities this past summer in the local 4-H program, the Bucyrus Bratwurst Festival, and the Americettes program.

“The easy thing for students to do during the summer is relax, have fun and take time off from being involved in their community,” Elementary School Associate Principal Timothy Souder said. “We are extremely proud of these students for investing their time and talents to help make the Bucyrus community a better place for everyone.”

Students receiving commendations during the meeting included: Andrew Ashley, Jenna Ashley, Jayden Emans, Grace Jackson, Aubrie Kimmel, Charles Miley, Destiny Pelfrey, Trinity Pelfrey, Hannah Scott, Ellie Spitler, Gauge Sugden, Andrea Temple, Kamron Thompson, Emma Tyrrell, Gavin Tyrrell, Madison Tyrrell, Kaden Vaughn, Keagan Vaughn, Olivia Angel, Sophia Angel, Paige Barnett, Alissa Browning, Jennifer Craft, Mya Ditmars, Destiny Fulton, Gina Griffith, Brooklyn Haycook, Brianna Kegley, Madison Kepler, Lilly Kitzmiller, Alyssa Lawrence, Kitanna Lawson, Jaylynn Lockhart, Maci Messerschmidt, Lillian Neumann, Kylee Rowe, Izabella Tuttle, Layla Wireman.

“I want to personally commend each of these students, and their families, for giving their time and talents to our Bucyrus community,” Superintendent Kevin Kimmel said. “Remember the names of these students because, through their personal commitments and sacrifices, they have shown that they are the future leaders of our community”

Five members of the district’s Food Services staff also received commendations during the meeting. These individuals received national recognition for the district’s Summer Food Service program. Food services staff members recognized included: Misty McClellan, Nicole Miller, Tammy Zornes and Joyce Barciz.

Following the recognition ceremonies, the board approved all agenda items as presented. The next regular meeting will begin at 7:00 p.m. in the Lincoln Administrative Center Thursday, Oct. 27.

Staff report