More conference honors awarded to area student athletes

By Chad Clinger -

The Mid-Ohio Athletic Conference and Northern-10 Athletic Conference have handed out more awards to the student athletes participating in fall sports.

The N-10 Conference has issued all-conference honors to the girls from Colonel Crawford High School from this volleyball season. Junior Jenna Seigel was named first team all-conference, sophomore Danielle Horsley took home second team honors and senior Samantha Mutchler was named an all N-10 honorable mention award winner.

Over in the MOAC, second team and honorable mention awards were given out to area football players for their performances this 2016 season. The first team honors were posted in a previous article.

Northmor athletes that made conference honors are as follows: Demetrious Johnson was named second team all-conference on the offensive side of the ball while Mathew Ross grabbed second team honors on the defensive side. Conan Becker was named as an all-conference honorable mention award winner.

Garrett Kuns received second team all-conference accolades on the defensive side of the ball and teammate Noah Grochowalski was awarded MOAC Red Division honorable mention honors.

The 2016 Scholar Athlete Award winners were also named. This award is given to one football player from each side of the conference. In the Blue Division of the MOAC, Mount Gilead Indians’ Danny Williamson won the award. Williamson was also named to the all-conference first team (offense) for his efforts on the field this season. Connor Moreton continued to rack up awards from this past football season. Along with breaking the school field goal record twice and being named to the Red Division’s all-conference offensive first team, Moreton won the Scholar Athlete Award on the Red side for the 2016 campaign.

By Chad Clinger

Find Chad on Twitter @GalionSportsGuy

Reach Chad at 419-468-1117 x2048

Find Chad on Twitter @GalionSportsGuy

Reach Chad at 419-468-1117 x2048